Faculty

The Ursinus Environmental Studies faculty represent ten different disciplines in all three academic divisions – natural sciences, social sciences, and humanities. They share a wealth of interests in the environmental realm. As a result, students in Environmental Studies can take courses or pursue research opportunities in many different areas while working within the core interdisciplinary foundation of environmental problem solving.

Faculty members are divided into three categories: core faculty, who teach, conduct research, and advise students full-time in the Environmental Studies Program; associated faculty, who hold appointments in other departments but teach, conduct research, and advise in Environmental Studies adjunct faculty, who regularly contribute to the Environmental Studies curriculum.

Environmental Studies Core Faculty

Richard L. Wallace, Ph.D.,
Professor
M.E.S., Ph.D., Yale University
B.A., University of Vermont
610-409-3730
Biography
Select Publications 
rwallace@ursinus.edu
http://webpages.ursinus.edu/rwallace/
Patrick T. Hurley, Ph.D.,
Associate Professor and
Chair of Environmental Studies
M.S., Ph.D., University of Oregon
B.A., University of Maryland
484-762-4323
Biography
Select Publications
phurley@ursinus.edu
http://webpages.ursinus.edu/phurley/
 
Leah H. Joseph, Ph.D.,
Associate Professor of Environmental Studies
M.S., Ph.D., University of Michigan
B.S., University of Rochester
610-409-3000 x 3017
Biography
Select Publications 
ljoseph@ursinus.edu

Environmental Studies Associated Faculty

 
Jonathan L. Clark, J.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology & Sociology
B.S., The Pennsylvania State University
J.D., Washington & Lee University 
Select Publications
Biography
jclark@ursinus.edu
 
Ellen M. Dawley, Ph.D.,
Professor of Biology
B.S., Mercy College of Detroit
M.S., University of Michigan
Ph.D., University of Connecticut
610-409-3000 x 3285
Biography
Select Publications
ldawley@ursinus.edu
 
Robert M. Dawley, Ph.D.,
Professor of Biology
B.S., B.A., M.S., Wayne State University
Ph.D., University of Connecticut
610-409-3000 x 3069
Biography
Select Publication
rdawley@ursinus.edu
 
Mark D. Ellison, Ph.D.,
Associate Professor of Chemistry
B.S., University of Pittsburgh
Ph.D., Stanford University
610-409-3000 x 3245
Select Publications
Biography
mellison@ursinus.edu
 
Kathryn A. Goddard, Ph.D.,
Associate Professor of Biology
B.S., Gettysburg College
M.S., Bucknell University
Ph.D., University of Connecticut
610-409-3000 x 3327
Biography
Select Publications
kgoddard-doms@ursinus.edu
 
Rebecca Jaroff, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Chair of English
B.A., Ursinus College
M.A., Ph.D., University of Delaware
Office: Olin 316 
Phone: 610-409-3647
Select Publications
rjaroff@ursinus.edu
Teaching and Research
James Houghton Kane,
Associate Professor of Politics
B.A., Houghton College
M.A., University of Pennsylvania
J.D., Temple University
610-409-3000 x 3276
Biography
Select Publications
hkane@ursinus.edu
 
Regina Smith Oboler, Ph.D.,
Professor of Anthropology and Sociology
B.A., Antioch College
Ph.D., Temple University
610-409-3000 x 3048
Biography
Select Publications
roboler@ursinus.edu
 
Peter Forrest Small, Ph.D.,
Professor of Biology
B.S., Austin Peay State University
M.S., East Tennessee State University
Ph.D., Miami University
610-409-3000 x 3560
Biography
Select Publications
psmall@ursinus.edu
 
Kelly Sorensen, Ph.D.,
Associate Professor of Philosophy and Religion
B.S., Brigham Young University
M.S., University of Utah
M.A., Ph.D., Yale University
610-409-3000 x 3527
Biography
Select Publications
ksorensen@ursinus.edu
 
Cory Straub, Ph.D.,
Assistant Professor of Biology
B.A., Indiana University of Pennsylvania
M.S., Central Washington University
Ph.D., Washington State University
610-409-3000, x 3306
Biography
Select Publications
cstraub@ursinus.edu

Environmental Studies Adjunct Faculty

Sarah Willig, Ph.D.,
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Geology and Environmental Studies
A.B., Princeton University
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
610-409-3000
Biography
Select Publications
swillig@ursinus.edu
 
Tristan Ashcroft, Ph.D.,
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Geology and Environmental Studies
B.A., Juniata College
M.S. University of Albany
Ph.D., University of Nevada, Reno
tashcroft@ursinus.edu